

En esta noticia
Daily users of the Zelle payment service should be aware of the specific situations in which a completed transfer can be disputed and the timeframe allowed to file a claim.
Zelle can be used through the app of the banks and credit unions that offer it to their customers, and to send money only the recipient’s email or U.S. mobile phone number is needed.
Since the process is quick and requires few steps, the recommendation is always to verify very carefully the details of the person to whom money is being sent because there are specific requirements to request that the transaction be canceled and cases where this simply will not be possible.
When can a Zelle transfer be canceled?
According to official information shared by Zelle, cancellations can only be made when the person to whom the money was sent has not yet enrolled in the service.
How to cancel step by step in these cases
- The person who sent the money must go to the activity page within Zelle
- Choose the payment to cancel
- Finally select “Cancel this payment”
There is time to carry out this action as long as the recipient is not enrolled. At the moment an account is created, the money will be deposited and the transaction cannot be reversed.

In which cases does the money return automatically to the account of the person who sent it?
When money is sent to the account of a person who has not yet enrolled in Zelle, the recipient receives an official notification by email or at the phone number used for the transaction, indicating that funds were sent to them.
With this notice, the steps to register and receive the money are attached. If these instructions are not completed within a 14-day period from the notification, the funds that could not be deposited are automatically returned to the account of the person who sent them.
It is important to note that the permitted sending limits must be checked with each bank or credit union.
Essential information for all people who use Zelle
When using this payment service, it is not only key to verify the recipient’s details, but also that the phone number or email address provided as the user are the ones used to register in the first place.
Those who made a mistake and provided incorrect data that have not yet been used to enroll in Zelle will have to contact their bank so that the registration can be completed.

